CVT/CSC’s Chris Willemse (Jnr) won a tough Cape Winter League 150km circuit race at the weekend. It was held on the same circuit used for the successful 2004 SA Championships and this included the notorious climbs up Vissershok, Tiekkiedraai and the killer up Robertson Street in Durbanville.
CVT/CSC’s Team Manager, Chris Willemse Snr, said: “The race, which required the riders to cover the route five times, was hard from the start.”
Three riders broke early in the race; Simon Brown (Team CVT/CSC), Conraad Siebrits (Coessa) and Travis Wilken (Chris Willemse Cycles). These riders were caught after two laps by Wesley Cole and Chris Willemse (both Team CVT/CSC), followed by Thabit Price (Coessa), Neil Timm (UCT) and Mike Souwerby (GT Cycles). 

Cole, still struggling with a back injury from a fall at the recent SA Track Championships, was forced to abandon the race with about 45km to go.
As the riders approached the Robertson Street climb for the last time, Chris Willemse Jnr took the lead. Price and Timm battled to keep up with the pace set by the versatile youngster, but Mike Souwerby stayed on Willemse’s wheel until the CVT/CSC rider made his final attack a little over a kilometre from the finish. He took the  honours with a comfortable one minute advantage over  Souwerby, leaving an impressive Luthando Khaka (Fast Fuel), in third place.